This week I found out I had been betrayed by a friend.

My first instinct was to shut down, to close out anyone I wasn’t sure I could trust 100%. I even contemplated closing and deleting this blog. I felt completely vulnerable.

I began to question myself, I’ve always been completely open and honest with my life, should I start being more coy? More hidden? More private? Should I start censoring myself? Withdraw from encouraging new friendships? Limit myself to only those I know I can trust?

But then the pain started to subside and the anger set in. I haven’t done anything wrong. I am proud of my life and the way I live it. I am proud of my beautiful family and the decisions we have made as a family, for our family. I have done nothing to hide.

I can’t control other people’s actions, but I can control my reactions and I won’t let their actions stop me living my life openly and proudly. I am who I am. And I am proud.

